Managing Security Profiles and Permissions

Overview

A user's ability to manage skills, users, workgroups, and organization will be based on the permissions assigned to the security profile the user is assigned to. This article will go over available permissions, security profiles, and creating or modifying security profiles.

 

In this Article

 

Permissions

The permissions that a user has will determine what areas of the skill manager they'll be able to access as well as what functions they'll be able to perform in the skills manager. Permissions are assigned to a security profile which is then assigned to the user.

Available permissions are:

  • Access Chat Feed Telemetry: Allows users the ability to view the Andi chat feed logs in the Andi Skills Manager. The 'Andi Feed' tab will show on the Manage Skill dashboard.

  • Delete Skill Packages: Allows users the ability to delete a skill that belongs to and is owned by their organization.
  • Deploy and enable skills in Development Workgroup: Allows users the ability to deploy their skill from the skill kit (IDE) to Andi® and enable/disable the skill for testing by users in the Development workgroup.

  • Enable Skills in Production Workgroup: Allows users the ability to enable/disable skill(s) in their organization's production environment.
  • Enable Skills in Testing Workgroup: Allows users the ability to enable/disable skills for testing by the users indicated in the Testing workgroup.

  • Install Skills from Gallery: Allows users the ability to view the Gallery and install skills from the Gallery to the Skills Manager.

  • Manage API Keys: Allows users the ability to create and revoke API keys to use for authentication when using the Andi API.

  • Manage Organization: Allows users the ability to manage information about the organization. The Admin Page link will show on the menu bar and the user will have access to the Icon tab.
  • Manage Users: Allows users the to add new or manage existing security profiles and user profiles. The Admin page link will show on the menu bar and the user will have access to the Users tab.

  • Manage Workgroups: Allows users the ability to manage the workgroups that users are assigned to. The Admin page link will show on the menu bar and the user will have access to the Workgroups tab.

  • Mark skills Ready for Production: Allows users the ability to indicate that a skill is ready to be enabled in production, but does not enable the skill.

Security Profiles

Security Profiles are roles that are created containing certain permissions, which are then assigned to a user. The Andi® platform contains 5 default security profiles, which meet the most common roles needed to utilize the platform. However, you also have the option to create, modify, or delete security profiles (dependent upon your own user permissions).

Default Security Profiles

The following are the available default security profiles:

  • Business User: Users with this profile can only enable/disable skills in Production, access the Andi® Feed, and install skills from the Gallery.
  • Organization Administrator: Users with this profile can perform all functions in Andi® as well as create, edit, and delete security profiles; contains all available permissions.

  • Skill Administrator: Users with this profile can deploy and enable/disable skills in all production environments, access the Andi® Feed, and install skills from the Gallery; contains non-user and non-workgroup management permissions.

  • Skill Developer: Users with this profile can deploy their skills, test in the development and testing workgroups, and access the Andi® Feed. They cannot enable/disable skills in production; contains skill development permissions.

  • Skill Tester: Users with this profile can test skills, but cannot enable skills for production and can access the Andi® Feed; contains skill testing permissions.

Creating a new Security Profile

Users with the manage security profiles permission in their security profile have the ability to create new security profiles for their users.

On the Admin page, select the Security Profiles tab.

Select Create New Profile.

Shows Create New Profile being selected

Enter the Security Profile Name and check the boxes next to the permissions to enable. When finished, select Save.

Shows a new security profile being created

To cancel, select Back to All Security Profiles.

Shows the Back to All Security Profiles link

Editing an existing Security Profile

Users with the manage security profiles permission in their security profile have the ability to edit existing security profiles.

On the Admin page, select the Security Profiles tab.

Select the security profile you would like to edit.

Shows an existing security profile being selected

To Modify the Profile

If modifying the security profile, make the desired edits to the name or enabled permissions and select Save.

Shows an existing security profile being modified

To Delete the Profile

If deleting the security profile, select Delete This Security Profile.

Shows the delete security profile link

In the pop-up window, select OK to confirm the deletion or select Cancel.

Shows the confirmation window when deleting a security profile

Note: A security profile cannot be deleted if assigned to an active user. An error message will appear if you try to delete the security profile.

Shows the error message that appears when trying to delete a security profile assigned to an active user

 

When finished editing, select Back to All Security Profiles.

Shows the Back to All Security Profiles link

 

Assigning Security Profiles

Security profiles will be assigned to users in the Users tab.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful