Overview

The ability for an end user to receive the insights an Andi® skill provides depends on whether the skill is enabled or disabled. Workgroups provide you with the ability to determine what group of users are able to see an enabled skill. This article will cover what workgroups are, their use cases, and how to manage the workgroup(s) a user belongs to.

 

In this Article

 

What is a Workgroup?

A Workgroup consists of a group of application users within an organization who are able to see an enabled skill.

The Andi® platform contains the following workgroups:

  • Development
  • Testing
  • Production

You will enable or disable a skill for a workgroup on the skill page.

 

Using Workgroups

Development

When a skill is deployed from the IDE, it will go to the development workgroup. The lifecycle of all skills will start with this workgroup and allows any user in this workgroup (such as a user with the skill developer security profile), to complete initial testing of the skill in the application to ensure the skill code functions properly before publishing a new skill or testing out future versions of a skill while the current version remains enabled in production.

Testing

The next stage to advance a skill version is the testing workgroup. Like the Development workgroup, this allows you the opportunity to test out a new skill or future versions of a skill while the current version remains enabled in production. This workgroup is best utilized for a small group of end users of the application with skill testing permissions in Andi® (such as a user with the skill tester security profile) to test out the functionality of the skill, before a complete roll out of the skill in production.

Production

The users of this workgroup are the complete set of end users of the application. Any user with an active account in the application will be able to see the enabled skill. Because the production workgroup is for all users of the application, there is not a production workgroup in the Workgroups Admin page tab.

 

Managing users in your workgroups

Administrators with the Manage Workgroups permission will be able to add users to or remove users from the Development and Testing workgroups in the Andi® Skills Manager.

On the Admin page, select the Workgroups tab.

Shows the workgroups tab

Adding a user

In the Add bar of the workgroup you're adding the user to, enter the user's email address as it appears in the application, then select Add.

Shows a user being added to a workgroup

Repeat this process for as many users as you need to add to the workgroup. When complete, select Apply.

Shows the apply button

Removing a user

Select the email address of the user from the list in the workgroup you're removing the user from, then select Remove.

Shows a user being removed from a workgroup

Repeat this process for as many users as you need to remove from the workgroup. When complete, select Apply.

Shows the apply button

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful