API keys allow you to generate an authorization key that allows users with that key to access the Andi® API. API keys will be managed from the API keys tab of the Admin page in the Andi® Skills Manager, which is only accessible if you have the appropriate permission. This article will cover how to create and revoke API Keys.
In this Article
Creating an API Key
Under New API Key on the API Keys tab, enter a name for your key. The key name cannot be a duplicate of any existing keys.
Then, select the appropriate permission(s) for your key:
- Manage Storage - allows the key to be used to upload/download a file from storage using the Andi® API.
- Manage Skills - allows the key to be used to upload/download a skill, as well as enable/disable and configure it, using the Andi® API.
At least one permission must be selected in order to create the key.
Then select Create.
A message will appear in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen if successfully created and a box will appear with the key.
Select Copy to copy the key before you leave or refresh the page, otherwise you will not be able to retrieve the key. When successfully copied, a message will appear in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. You will need to paste and store the key in a safe place. The key is valid for 5 years. The key should be treated as a password. Anyone with access to the key will be able to access your instance of Andi®.
The Existing Keys table shows the following information about the API keys that have been created for your organization:
- Key Name
- Selecting 'Edit' allows you to update the permissions for the key. At least one permission must be selected for the key.
- Date Created
- Created By
- Revoke Key
Revoking an API Key
Prior to revoking a token, ensure that the token is not being used to authorize any functionality. Otherwise, that function will no longer work.
Under Existing Keys, locate the name of the key you'd like to revoke access to in the table, and select Revoke.
A pop-up will appear asking you to confirm that you want to revoke the key.
To revoke the key, select Revoke. Otherwise, select Cancel.
Once revoked, the key will no longer appear in the Existing keys table and a message will appear in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen confirming that the key was revoked successfully.